About Deb

I'm a "30 something" stay at home Mom of two girls, ages 9 and 7 and a baby boy born March 9, 2012. I live in beautiful South Tipperary and love it!

Irish by birth, I left at the tender age of eight to live in America.  I grew up in Michigan and spent a few of my teenage years in Belgium. After graduation I moved back to the US for university and met the love of my life. We married in 2002. In 2005 when our first daughter was a mere nine months old we took the plunge to leave our successful corporate jobs and moved to Ireland to be closer to family and pursue a foodie venture that fell through due to legal issues shortly after we arrived. We found ourselves stranded in a new country with no jobs and it's been a challenge to say the least.  We've now been here 8 years and things are finally feeling like home.

I am a big advocate of natural birth, having experienced three, the last being the most marvelous and empowering homebirth.  I am a big proponent of breastfeeding, despite having a physiological condition that prevents me from producing a full supply. I am interested in all things attachment parenting and am constantly striving to improve our lives by living more simply, frugally and greener. I love crafting, although I claim absolutely no talent in that area and I adore reading and cooking.

I'm a mainly self-taught cook with some experience in private catering.  I love to experiment with food and am known locally for my American-style baking.  The food featured here is generally food I cook for my family. I rarely use processed food and love that I have such wonderful producers around the island.  I appreciate good wholesome food, but am not averse to treats now and again.  Feel free to leave questions and comments on any of the recipes, I love to hear from you guys! :)

I am very open to reviewing books and products provided I can give my honest opinion.  If you have a product that you think I, or my readers, would like, please do get in touch.  If I feel it is relevant to this site, I would be happy to try it out and review it.

Contact me by email